Perkins School of Theology - Southern Methodist University

The primary mission of Perkins School of Theology, as a community devoted to theological study and teaching in the service of the church of Jesus Christ, is to prepare women and men for faithful leadership in Christian ministry.

Perkins School of Theology is one of the 13 seminaries of The United Methodist Church and one of only five university-related United Methodist theological schools, located at Southern Methodist University--in the heart of Dallas, Texas--with an extension program in Houston/Galveston. The Baptist House of Studies (BHS) at Perkins School of Theology fosters community for ministerial students, faculty, and staff who identify with the Baptist and Free Church traditions. The BHS is a spiritual, rather than a physical, house that especially supports and encourages students as they pursue their academic and ecclesial training in an ecumenical and university-based seminary.

Register for Baptist House Info Session!

All Alliance of Baptists Annual Gathering attendees will be entered into a drawing for a Perkins School of Theology T-shirt when they register for an information session! (use code #SMUPerkins)

Find us on social media

Stay in the Loop

Stay up to date with everything happening with the Alliance of Baptists!